First impressions at Boudhanath

Yesterday, I arrived in Kathmandu.   My home base during my four week stay is the Buddhist neighborhood of Boudhanath, also often called Boudha, with the now damaged and still magnificent giant stupa in its center.

DSCN0403

March 2014

DSC00939

March 2016

Since touching ground just 24 hours ago, I have been overwhelmed by the good spirit and optimism of everyone I speak to. On my brief walk mid-day I passed schoolyards emitting busy chatter. Dogs lay stretched out or curled snoozing amongst feet rushing by. Signs of rebuilding abound.

In the coming days, I will begin to visit the individual heritage sites in Kathmandu and Patan, and will begin to set up meetings with scholars of Himalayan metalwork, preservation agencies, craftsmen, and many others in the hope to explore the current situation.

Leave a comment